Review - Types of Abuse

The Penal Code specifies employment categories as mandated child abuse reporters. If your profession is one that falls in the category of a mandated reporter, you are required to report suspected abuse to local child protective authorities, either to Child Welfare Services or your Local Law Enforcement agency. To fail to report constitutes a crime. This requirement applies to:

  • Physical abuse
  • Neglect
  • Sexual abuse
  • Emotional abuse

It is also important to remember that the responsibility for reporting rests solely with the mandated reporter. Reporting suspected abuse to an employer, supervisor, school principal, school counselor, coworker, or other person is not a substitute for reporting to a child protective agency. However, when two or more mandated reporters jointly have knowledge of suspected child abuse or neglect, a single report may be made by the selected member of the reporting team.

Previous                                                                Next